The “Life-Saving Sequence” of Krishnamacharya – save your life in 15 minutes :)

Krishnamacharya was one amazing dude.  He was a yogi and professor of vedanta who taught the two most influential yoga teachers in the west, Patthabi Jois and B.K.S. Iyengar.

I’ve seen a couple of documentaries on him and have one book about him. I encourage you to look him up, at least on YouTube.

One documentary includes interviews wiht his son and daughter.  The daughter explained how in his later life, Krishnamacharya developed what he called the “life-saving sequence” to be performed daily.  It is very short and when I saw it I thought I could easily add it to my routine as a nighttime sequence.  Here is my transcription – if anybody reads this and has a correction to this please let me know:

  1. Matsyasana for 3 long breaths
  2. Cobra for 3 long breaths. Concentrate on the middle of the eyebrows starting with eyes closed then opening.
  3. Shoulder stand  for 6 breaths. Concentrate on the throat.
  4. Great seal – maha mudra – each side, for 3 long breaths? (I do this one with Kumbhaka (Breath Retention) after each breath)
  5. Paschimotanasana
  6. Then sit concentrating on the heart.  I fold my palms and breathe for a few minutes.

Now you are ready for bed — and apparently, your life has been saved!

One thought on “The “Life-Saving Sequence” of Krishnamacharya – save your life in 15 minutes :)

Leave a Reply

